Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Inheritance Games
Cover of The Inheritance Games
The Inheritance Games
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets—perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out....
Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets—perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out....
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets—perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
    Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why — or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.
    To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch — and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    July 1, 2020

    Gr 7 Up-Barnes's meticulously crafted novel is like the film Knives Out for the YA world, perfect for any reader seeking suspense, romance, and glamour. This Cinderella story gets its twist when Avery Grambs, a teen living out of her car and dreaming of a financially stable future, inherits billionaire Tobias Hawthorne's fortune. Avery is sure she's never met a Hawthorne in her life, but she's just become the star player in Tobias's final puzzle. Forced to move into the rambling Hawthorne House to retain the inheritance, Avery discovers that hidden passageways aren't the only secrets on this estate. She strives to learn all about the enigmatic Tobias Hawthorne-and discovers this inheritance game was decades in the making. Armed only with the letters Tobias left his four grandsons, Avery becomes determined to solve their riddles if only to answer the question: Why her? The secondary cast of characters offers diversity in both race and sexual orientation, within the Hawthorne family and the private high school where Avery enrolls. Barnes crafts high-stakes tension, a swoony love triangle, and a large but memorable cast of characters. The novel manages to tie up the mystery and set up its sequel with a killer cliffhanger. VERDICT Fun and fast-paced, fans of Karen M. McManus's One of Us Is Lying and Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious will find a new home at Hawthorne House. Even reluctant readers will devour this book.-Emmy Neal, Lake Forest Lib., IL

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from July 27, 2020
    When high school junior Avery Grambs learns that the violent, domineering boyfriend of Libby, her half-sister and legal guardian, will be sharing their apartment, she moves into her car. Then Avery is summoned to attend the will reading of billionaire and complete stranger Tobias Hawthorne. Avery and Libby travel from Connecticut to Texas, where they are stunned to learn that Tobias left the bulk of his estate to Avery. To inherit, she must spend a year living in Tobias’s labyrinthine mansion with his two furious daughters, who think she is a con-woman, and his four brilliant, hypercompetitive grandsons—Nash, 25; Grayson, 19; Jameson, 18; and Xander, 16—who believe she is their puzzle-obsessed grandfather’s final riddle. As Avery gets swept up in the boys’ quest for answers, she starts to feel like she belongs—until someone on the grounds tries to kill her. Tony trappings and a boldly drawn, predominantly white cast complement the delightfully soapy plot of this strong, Knives Out–esque series opener from Barnes (Little White Lies). The denouement underwhelms, but an abundance of cryptic clues and tempestuous love triangles provides ample enjoyment. Ages 12–up. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown.

  • Kirkus

    Starred review from August 15, 2020
    A teen must solve a multilayered puzzle to find out why she's the recipient of a billionaire's inheritance. One day Avery--with her mother dead, her father missing for years, and her guardian half sister on the rebound with her abusive boyfriend--is living out of her car. The very next day she is on a plane to Hawthorne House, a mansion in Texas, where she discovers she's the beneficiary of billionaire Tobias Hawthorne's fortune. She must, however, abide by one condition: living for a full year with the snubbed Hawthorne family--a family that includes the billionaire's four grandsons, young adult brothers who share a mother but have different fathers. This whirlwind story gains even more intensity when Avery learns that Hawthorne was a master of games and manipulation. To understand her role in the billionaire's final game and why she's the recipient of his inheritance, she must piece together clues left in his massive estate filled with hidden chambers. Short, snappy chapters supply nonstop momentum with red herrings, more family secrets, and even attempts on her life. To help her solve the riddles, Avery must turn to the Hawthorne brothers even if there's some romantic interest at play--and even if they're the ones who want her dead. The main characters are White; one brown-skinned Hawthorne brother describes himself as multiracial. Part The Westing Game, part We Were Liars, completely entertaining. (Mystery. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    October 15, 2020
    Grades 9-12 Avery Grambs is used to maximizing her options. Her mom's dead and her dad's out of the picture, but she and her optimistic-despite-everything half sister scrape by. When Avery is summoned to the reading of Texas billionaire Tobias Hawthorne's will, she's utterly perplexed; she never even met the man. She's even more bewildered to learn that he left almost his entire estate not to his daughters or grandsons but to her, with one condition: Avery must move into Hawthorne House, a giant mansion filled with puzzles, secret passages, and Tobias' deeply irked actual family, for a year. As she delves into the mysteries of the house, Avery also becomes caught up with the four Hawthorne brothers, all raised on secrets, each with his own deeply held motivation. The seemingly indefatigable Barnes (Deadly Little Scandals, 2019) digs into the teen psyche in this well-characterized mystery that's packed to the brim with twists and tricks. Hand immediately to teen fans of Knives Out or readers who love Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious series.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Inheritance Games
The Inheritance Games
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Inheritance Games
The Inheritance Games
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Cedarburg School District, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close