Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Marabel and the Book of Fate
Cover of Marabel and the Book of Fate
Marabel and the Book of Fate
Marabel of Magikos Series, Book 1
Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother—and their kingdom—in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with...
Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother—and their kingdom—in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother—and their kingdom—in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons.

    In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

    But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants—and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.

About the Author-

  • Tracy Barrett is the author of numerous acclaimed and award-winning books for young readers. She lives in Nashville, Tennessee.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    September 1, 2017

    Gr 3-7-Remarkably timely with its exploration of feminism and social justice, this fantasy title empowers as much as it entertains. In the land of Magikos, the revered Book of Fate has foretold important events since the beginning of time. It prophesied that Marco, Marabel's twin brother, will be the Chosen One to unite the kingdoms and bring harmony throughout the land. Marabel's "Unchosen One" status has deprived her the freedom to openly practice sword fighting and other endeavors her royal family considers unprincesslike. On the eve of their 13th birthday, Marco is kidnapped by rival Queen Mab and taken to the Desolate Barrens, a country created after a giant wall was erected around Magikos to keep the so-called "evils" out. Frustrated by the inaction of her father, Marabel launches her own rescue attempt. With the help of her best friend and a snarky talking unicorn, Marabel crosses into the Desolate Barrens. The trio encounters many magical creatures that challenge their assumptions about the country and its inhabitants. Marabel's journey helps her realize she's more than an overshadowed sibling and that outsiders may not be the strangers she's always feared. By acknowledging her strengths and accepting her weaknesses, she is able to rescue her brother and unite the kingdoms through working alongside those who previously opposed her. VERDICT This subversive hero's quest champions the concepts of gender equality and embracing differences while also delivering an engrossing, laugh-filled adventure-Sophie Kenney, Vernon Area Public Library District, IL

    Copyright 2017 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    November 1, 2017
    Princess Marabel of Magikos goes on a quest to save her twin brother, Marco.For their 13th birthday, royal twins Princess Marabel and Prince Marco (both white) attend a grand celebration to celebrate Marco, the Chosen One as predicted by the kingdom's Book of Fate. Marabel loves her brother but feels second-rate, once again. When their aunt Mab (banished by the king to the Desolate Barrens, a separated part of Magikos) crashes the party and kidnaps Marco, Marabel, along with her white maid-cum-best friend, Ellie, and a talking unicorn named Floriano (whose plot purpose seems to be opening doors with his magical horn), nervously travels to the Desolate Barrens--a land populated by "Evils"--to rescue him. The three trudge through many derivative adventures borrowed from fairy tales and popular culture as they make their way to Mab's castle. The story considers worthy, timely themes in Marabel's realization that the creatures labeled "Evils" are only different, not wicked, and in her growing self-empowerment as she faces down danger and fear. These are unfortunately diluted by the story's slack execution. Marabel indulges in the plot contrivance of self-doubting inner questioning on a tiresomely frequent basis, and there are several plot inconsistences. Many jokes based on popular/internet culture ("WizFi," "Angry Pheonixes," and "elfie," for instance) are not well-integrated and feel gratuitous.Poor execution distracts from the story's important themes of female empowerment, tolerance, and inclusion. (Fantasy. 8-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    December 11, 2017
    Barrett (The Stepsister’s Tale) takes readers to the fantasy realm of Magikos in a series opener that pits fate against free will, touches on prejudice and patriarchy, and has fun with fairy tale tropes. Princess Marabel and her twin brother, Marco, are heirs to the throne, but Marco is the Chosen One described in the Book of Fate, “which told important Magikians what their futures held.” When Queen Mab, the siblings’ estranged aunt, captures Marco on the twins’ 13th birthday, Marabel becomes determined to rescue her brother, venturing into the Desolate Barrens that Mab rules, joined by her claustrophobic best friend and maid, Ellie, and a talking unicorn named Floriano. As they make unexpected friends with trolls and other creatures typically derided as “Evils,” Barrett highlights Marabel’s personal awakening, challenging beliefs she hadn’t thought to question. Heavy foreshadowing and a tidy conclusion keep the stakes modest, Barrett’s efforts to incorporate technology can feel forced (WizFi, etc.), and there’s not much character depth or development, but the story offers food for thought on an array of valuable topics. An Alloy Entertainment property. Ages 8–12.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Hachette Audio
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Marabel and the Book of Fate
Marabel and the Book of Fate
Marabel of Magikos Series, Book 1
Tracy Barrett
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Marabel and the Book of Fate
Marabel and the Book of Fate
Marabel of Magikos Series, Book 1
Tracy Barrett
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Cedarburg School District, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close