Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Queen of Shadows
Cover of Queen of Shadows
Queen of Shadows
Throne of Glass Series, Book 4
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last...
Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.

    Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past...

    She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight. She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return. Celaena's epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena's story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

About the Author-

  • Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times and internationally bestselling author of the Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as the upcoming adult series Crescent City. Her books have sold more than eight million copies and are published in thirty-six languages. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, son and dog.
    sarahjmaas.com
    facebook.com/theworldofsarahjmaas
    instagram.com/therealsjmaas

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    August 1, 2015
    Having cast off her Celaena identity, Aelin returns to Adarlan to reclaim her crown. Leaving Rowan behind after Heir of Fire (2014), Aelin arrives determined to stop the king's deadly demons, the Valg. She seeks out her former master from her assassin days, the charismatic and devious Arobynn, and also finds Chaol, but there's no happy reunion between the two. (Chaol fans shouldn't worry-while he and Aelin may not see eye to eye, he has prominent storylines and character growth.) Aelin's most pressing priority is the rescue of her cousin Aedion, slated for execution at Prince Dorian's birthday as an obvious trap for her. As for Dorian, he's imprisoned in his own body by the Valg controlling him-Chaol holds hope that he can be saved; Aelin knows how unlikely that is. Meanwhile, Wing Leader Manon, head of Adarlan's wyvern-riding witch army, finds growing dissent at the commands she is given, leading to tough choices. At times believability is stretched (fugitives travel around the city freely, one or two heroes defeat large groups of enemies), but character motivations and interactions-friendships, romances, and others-are always nuanced and on point, especially as Aelin's growing maturity offers her new perspectives on old acquaintances. The ending leaves readers poised for the next installment. Impossible to put down. (Fantasy. 14 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2015) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    October 1, 2015

    Gr 10 Up-Picking up where Heir of Fire (Bloomsbury, 2014) left off, this work follows Aelin as she returns to Adarlan to rescue her cousin from execution, free Prince Dorian from the Valg demon inside of him, and kill the King of Adarlan to set her people free. Told from many different viewpoints, this highly anticipated installment of the series will live up to every one of fans' expectations. Strong, clever, and resilient, Aelin expertly manages to rescue her cousin from the castle with minimal casualties. Then, with the help of her loyal friends and the Fae Prince Rowan, they devise a plan to destroy one of the king's towers to free magic and take back their powers so they can assassinate the evil King of Adarlan. Meanwhile, Manon, the Wing Leader of the Blackbeak witch coven, struggles with her grandmother's order to select a coven of witches to breed with Valg demons to please the mortal Duke. Aelin and Manon cross paths in surprising ways, and everything comes together in one thrilling and high-stakes climax that will leave readers on the edge of their seats. With a full cast of three-dimensional characters and a slew of emotionally riveting scenes and shocking realizations, readers will be daydreaming about this book long after it's over. VERDICT Beautifully written prose and brilliantly crafted plots come together in this entry of the awe-inspiring fantasy series that will leave readers anticipating the next volume.-Candyce Pruitt-Goddard, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, WA

    Copyright 2015 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus Reviews Character motivations and interactions. . . are always nuanced and on point, especially as Aelin's growing maturity offers her new perspectives on old acquaintances. . . Impossible to put down.
  • New York Times bestselling author Tamora Pierce I was afraid to put the book down!
  • School Library Journal Readers will devour Maas's latest entry...A must-purchase.
  • Kirkus Reviews Tension snowballs into devastating twists and an absolutely riveting ending... Will leave readers ravenous for more.
  • Kirkus Reviews, starred review An epic fantasy readers will immerse themselves in and never want to leave.
  • Publisher's Weekly, Starred Review A thrilling read.
  • RT Book Reviews Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book!

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Queen of Shadows
Queen of Shadows
Throne of Glass Series, Book 4
Sarah J. Maas
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Queen of Shadows
Queen of Shadows
Throne of Glass Series, Book 4
Sarah J. Maas
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Cedarburg School District, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close